mr_MADAFAKA@lemmy.ml to Piracy: ꜱᴀɪʟ ᴛʜᴇ ʜɪɢʜ ꜱᴇᴀꜱ@lemmy.dbzer0.comEnglish · 14 hours agogog-games is shutting downimagemessage-square34fedilinkarrow-up1194arrow-down18
arrow-up1186arrow-down1imagegog-games is shutting downmr_MADAFAKA@lemmy.ml to Piracy: ꜱᴀɪʟ ᴛʜᴇ ʜɪɢʜ ꜱᴇᴀꜱ@lemmy.dbzer0.comEnglish · 14 hours agomessage-square34fedilink
minus-squarecrunchy@lemmy.dbzer0.comlinkfedilinkEnglisharrow-up152·13 hours agogog-games is a piracy site that hosts torrents for games on GOG. The real GOG isn’t shutting down.
minus-squareSevenSkalls [he/him]@hexbear.netlinkfedilinkEnglisharrow-up11·8 hours agoThanks for the clarification. I panicked for a second, too lol.
minus-squareTetsuo@jlai.lulinkfedilinkEnglisharrow-up19arrow-down1·edit-213 hours agoEdit : The banner was on a different website gog-games.to Even on gog-games i can’t see that banner. Neither on the official gog. In fact I don’t see OP banner on any GOG related website. And not on any site using the same logo at the top.
minus-squarecrunchy@lemmy.dbzer0.comlinkfedilinkEnglisharrow-up20·13 hours agoWeird, it comes up for me:
minus-squareTetsuo@jlai.lulinkfedilinkEnglisharrow-up19arrow-down1·13 hours agoAh it is indeed yet another gog-games domain… Not to confuse with gog-games.org. Also while searching for the .to website I just saw a report of a user suspecting a malware infection after downloading a game there. Honestly, seeing how many websites share similar domains I would be very cautious browsing them… But the banner is indeed real.
minus-squaremorto@piefed.sociallinkfedilinkEnglisharrow-up6·13 hours agoMaybe you have blocking rules preventing it from showing
??
gog-games is a piracy site that hosts torrents for games on GOG. The real GOG isn’t shutting down.
Thanks for the clarification. I panicked for a second, too lol.
Edit : The banner was on a different website gog-games.to
Even on gog-games i can’t see that banner.
Neither on the official gog.
In fact I don’t see OP banner on any GOG related website. And not on any site using the same logo at the top.
Weird, it comes up for me:
Ah it is indeed yet another gog-games domain… Not to confuse with gog-games.org.
Also while searching for the .to website I just saw a report of a user suspecting a malware infection after downloading a game there.
Honestly, seeing how many websites share similar domains I would be very cautious browsing them…
But the banner is indeed real.
Maybe you have blocking rules preventing it from showing